Tags

, , , , , ,


I remember going to Sunday School as a child. I also remember singing those songs, listening to the stories of Bible characters, and trying to memorize Bible verses.

Those first verses I memorized are the ones that have stayed with me over the years. You know, the ones like John 3:16, 1 John 1:9, Romans 3:23, etc. Those special verses that said I was a sinner, that God loves me enough to send His Son to die on the cross for, and that he will forgive me of my sins.

As I have gotten older different verses have stuck with me for various reasons. Many of the verses I know now, I share with others because they held a special place in my heart while I was struggling with something.

Sadly, though, as my memory has gotten a little worse over the years I can remember the verse but not the book or chapter of the Bible it is in. But I still remember the words. It still lives in my heart.

To dwell means to live in or ponder on. And richly means plentiful and fully.

I do both. While reading scripture I ponder on who the writer was speaking to, the situation at the time and how I can apply it to my life in my current situation. And because of my struggles with lust, anger, and loneliness I can recall certain verses to help me and others. So it does live in me just not plentiful and fully…yet.

I can get better, just as we all can. I do read my Bible daily. Now granted it’s mostly via the YouVersion Bible app and its daily reading plans. But with that I can’t to the cross references like I can when reading my King James Bible.

I love the daily reading plans but I need to get back to reading my Bible, taking notes and praying like I use to do. Though sometimes doing little posts like this is my way of taking notes.

But I do want the Word dwelling (living) in me richly (fully) so that I will not just be a hearer of the Word but a doer as well in all aspects of my life.

How about you? What can you do to have the words of Christ Dwell in you richly?

