Tags

, , , , , ,


A dear brother in the Lord wrote this letter for his future wife. I thought it was just so beautiful I had to share. I am so thankful he said yes when I asked him if I could share….so without further ado….

To my future wife

You may be wondering why I am writing to you in this journal. Well, it’s just that the theme is love, and I couldn’t resist.
 
I don’t know who you are and where you are yet. I trust in God’s will and timing, though I long to meet you so much. I cannot talk to you yet, but this shall suffice. My Sister in Christ, know that I love you and I am praying for you. I cannot wait for the day someday when I will be able to woo you off your feet. There are so many things I would like to do with you. I can already envision birthdays, Valentine’s Days, Christmases, spontaneous excursions, and the mundane moments of life that become special because I’m with you.
 
Even more than that, I want to worship my God and my Savior, Jesus Christ, with you. I want to pray with you, study God’s Word with you, do ministry with you, counsel other couples with you, raise kids with you, and simply be together.
 
I want to give you the very best. I desire to obey Jesus and be a “one-woman man” like 1 Timothy 3 describes. I desire to live in purity – physically, emotionally, relationally, and sexually for Jesus and you. At times, it is so hard to wait for you, but I know you’re worth the wait. I don’t want to simply desire purity but live in it. I know He desires for me to walk in purity until our wedding day and onward together. His ways are for our best and our good. Satan may tempt me and I may waver, but I will wait for you. I don’t know how long it will be before I see you and meet you, but, by the power of the Holy Spirit, I will persevere. This is what the Father has in store for me, for you, and for our marriage.
 
When I say that you are worth the wait, I don’t want you to feel like you have to prove it. You are worth it, my Bride and my Love. You alone are my standard of beauty. No other woman can compare. For you alone does my heart desire (save Jesus, of course). I can tell already that you are beautiful, that you are lovely, and that you are cute! Do not doubt my love for you; as I write, I long for you, and I catch a glimpse into the heart of Christ as He wants and longs for His bride, the Church.
 
I can tell you now that your beauty is matchless. No woman that I have seen thus far and no woman in the future will compare. You have no comparison, no equal, and no competition! You may think to yourself that I cannot make such declarations because I have yet to see you. Love, you are the standard of beauty for me. I only see you. You are the definition of beauty for me. Even though you may not fit within the current cultural definitions of beauty, know that I consider you beautiful – and so does God!
 
And, it’s not just external beauty that I talk about, of course. You are lovely in appearance, but your character shines brightest. It only makes you all the more attractive and disarming to the eyes. When I see you worship, when I see you pray, when I see your heart for the lost, when I see your compassion, when I see your obedience to the Lord, when I see you sacrifice for others, when I see your study of the Word – everything – I fall for you all the more. In my mind’s eye, I can see all those things happening, and I smile to myself. Daughter of God, how beautiful you are! You have been purchased with the precious blood of the Lamb; what is of more worth than Jesus? Your worth is infinite, daughter of the King.
 
More than anything, I will endeavor to have our marriage magnify and glorify our Savior. My Love, let us leave a Christ-exalting legacy. My family history is tough; it’s riddled with broken, loveless marriages. My family is not full of Christians, and together we mark a new chapter in our family histories. In that way, I am a patriarch and you are a matriarch. What we do today will affect generations from now. By the grace of God, we can leave a legacy of Jesus-founded marriages to the glory of God. I pray that Jesus may fill us with His Holy Spirit and empower us to do such a wondrous work to His fame. It is reminiscent of the generations of Israel in the Old Testament. By God’s grace and sovereignty, He would raise up a generation of faithful men and women of God in the midst of a long line of idolatry and apostasy. We’re like those people – saved by grace through faith. It’s amazing that what we do for His glory is also what is best for us and brings us the most joy!
 
Right now, I just want you to know that I am the luckiest guy in the world to have you. You are a tangible expression of Jesus’ grace in my life and I cannot wait to be your future husband. To be honest, I’m a hopeless romantic (not sure if you can tell!) I want to amaze you. I want to romance you. I want to have adventures with you. It can be adventures around the world or to the supermarket. No matter what the adventure, I know it will be special because I have you by my side. I don’t want to just sweet talk you – to tell you what you want to hear. I want to show you that my words carry weight. See what I mean by my actions. That is how you will know that I am truly your one-woman man.
 
My soul yearns for you. I desire you, my Bride. I don’t know what you’re doing right now, but know that I’m thinking of you. I pray that you are well, my Sister in Christ. May you have sweet and frequent communion with the biggest man in your life, Jesus Christ. I hope to take you on adventures beyond your wildest dreams, yet Jesus will always be the center of it all. He will be our greatest affection – set apart from all other loves, including each other. Let us practice loving Jesus more than life itself and seeking Him above all while apart. But, when we come together, it’ll be glorious; we’ll be husband and wife worshiping the King of Glory together. It’s beautiful for a husband and wife to remember the broken body and the blood spilt by our Savior for our salvation as we take communion together – the same body and blood spilt to establish the church, the Bride of Christ.
 
You know, writing to you is no easy task. It would be a much easier task if I knew who you were. But, you know what, that’s the fun of it. You see me as a single guy writing to you. I’m sure my future self will laugh over this letter, but cut me some slack. This is not an easy task. Actually, this isn’t even a task, but a joy to write to my lovely wife. It’s all worth it to see you smile and to hear you laugh. Sure, your laughter is at my expense, but that’s what a husband is for, right?
 
Lastly, know that I expect nothing in return from you. My love is not contingent on you writing me an awesome letter like this. Moreover, by the power of the Holy Spirit, I will love you like Christ loves the Church. I will love you with no expectation of anything in return and with no regard to your former sins or sins committed against you; because in Christ your sins have been forgiven and you have been clothed with His righteousness. Never think that you aren’t worthy of my affections. I’m more broken and messed up than you know (though it will become increasingly evident, I’m sure), and if you can receive the perfect love of Christ, you can receive my imperfect love from an imperfect me. Full disclosure, though, I’m going to knock your socks off.
 
Love,

Your Future Husband

