Tags

, , , , , , ,


I took a walk through the woods and fields today. I love being outside walking around and just observing nature. That is my haven. Today, for some reason I was concentrating on the different trees and grass. Walking through the fields I just put my arms out and let the tall wheat like grass touch my hands. It felt good. I was at peace.Grain Field

Upon returning to the house I grabbed my phone and sat down in the chair on the porch. I was determined to catch up on reading other blog sites. One particular post got my attention as it was talking about how a stay at home mom can change the world. It was an awesome post and one that will inspire moms to realize the importance of their role and how they do indeed change the world…one child at a time.

This bloggers key scripture was:

John 12:24

Verily, verily, I say unto you, Except a grain of wheat fall into the ground and die, it abideth alone; but if it die, it bringeth forth much fruit.

It made me ponder a few things. I had to do a little research first, since the verse was not given in exact quote (I only use the King James) with chapter and verse. This blogger used the term seed instead of grain. And I did not remember any of Jesus’ parables on seeds that said the seed died. So I had to dig to find the scripture used and I wondered why it was translated as grain in this verse and not seed like in all the others.

Then I looked at the verse a little more. I knew it was a paradox of Christ’s death but the grain threw me off. Then it hit me. It is the difference between grain and a seed. Grain is harvested as food, but if left in its orignal state and falls to the ground it becomes a seed. And that seed then produces more wheat for consumption.

This is so like our Lord, who left Glory to become a man for the sole purpose of dying. He died not only for our sins but so the Holy Spirit could come. And with the Spirit’s coming brought much fruit. We are part of that fruit.

If we, as Christian men, are to follow Christ then we must also die. By that…I mean we must die to ourselves. Christ could have said…you know what God I don’t think they are worth my life. I do not want to do this. And He kind of did when He said “Abba, Father, all things are possible unto thee. Take away this cup from me; Nevertheless, not what I will, but what thou wilt.” as in Mark 14:36.

Jesus, even on the cross could have called a legion of angels to take him down, yet He stayed. And we, as men, must not shirk our duties as husband or father just because we might become uncomfortable or worse…thinking it is not worth it.

Your wife is worth it as are your children

We all become uncomfortable at one time or another in our role as husband or father. I know for certain I have. Uncomfortable with decisions I made, words spoken, or deeds done. Yet, I have not given up. I can’t…God is not finished with me yet.

One day in the near future, whether it be with my current ex/wife or with another woman God allows in my life, I will need to die to my selfishness so that the relationship can grow. Not necessarily giving up myself…per se…as I will still be Stuart. But by putting my spouses needs above my own our relationship will grow and flourish as God intends.

That growth in our relationship will be seen by others just as it is when we die to ourselves and allow the Holy Spirit to be seen in us. It affects those around us in a positive manner when they see a marriage that is growing because of sacrifice. A sacrifice of each others time. A sacrifice of putting our spouses needs above our own just as Christ did when He left His place in glory and died, knowing that what we needed was a Savior.

Prayerfully men, we will learn that by dying to ourselves we are actually indeed fully alive.

God Bless,

Stuart

