In my post  A Father’s Prayer For His Son I wrote that I can only hope that through my prayers that I can lead him properly according to scripture and with integrity…in reference to my son. Then God told me that there are men and women out there that do not truly understand the meaning of the word. So allow me to give you the Webster definition of integrity real quick.Integrity

Integrity:

(1) adherence to moral and ethical principles; soundness fo moral character; honesty.
(2) the state of being whole, entire, of undiminished…to perserve the integrity of the empire.
(3) a sound, unimpaired, or perfect condition…like the integrity of a ship’s hull.

But what I find quite interesting is the meaning of the core word in the first definition…adhere.

Adhere means to stay attached and cleave.

Cleave means to adhere closely and to remain faithful.

And that faithful means strict and thorough in the performance of duty and to be true to ones word, promises, vows, etc.

See how it is kind of a circle of life thing? In order to have integrity one must adhere or cleave and remain faithful.

Where can our moral principles be found guys? Surely, they can not be found in the world as the world’s view is so shaded. Our moral principles must be found in scripture…meaning the Holy Bible, which we are to adhere to.

The Bible references cleaving in marriage in Genesis 2:24 where it say that a man shall leave his father and mother, and cleave unto his wife, and shall be one flesh. So just like the man leaving his father and mother and cleaving to his wife we, as Christians, are to leave the world and cleave to God. We must get to know the heart of God just as we get to know the heart of our spouse.

To me getting to know the heart of God means having a relationship with Him. And that means we are to read His Word and talk with Him. The Bible tells us in Matthew 4:4 that we are to not live by bread alone but by every word that proceeds out of God’s mouth and in 1 Thessalonians 5:16 it tells us that we are to pray without ceasing.

Praying without ceasing does not mean always praying…per se. I believe it means to be a constant attitude of prayer so that when temptations come that is our fist line of defense. When I pray I quote scripture at times. Not that God does not know His promises, for he is faithful. I claim those scriptures. Especially 1 Corinthians 10:13 where He will provide a way out of the temptation.

Integrity is all-encompassing. It covers your finances, your sexuality, your marriage, your character, your job, your speech and much more. So we must cleave to God, adhere to His Word and remain faithful to our faith in Him to have a life of integrity.
I believe that if we do this, men, we can actually be a Proverbs 20:7 man.

The just man walks in his integrity; his children are blessed after him.

God Bless guys,

Stuart

