Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


I know you have heard me say this phrase: It’s a slow fade.

Here is why. Because it is the truth!!

No one EVER wakes up in the morning and says “You know what? I’m going to become a drug addict today.” No ones wakes up and says “Today, I will just hate being who I am.” And the list can go on and on of things we could place in that sentence.

But for many of us we end up in those places…sometimes by our own means and sometimes it is forced upon us through others. Some of us become so hurt by the words of others that we just slowly start slipping into a pit of low self esteem. If we hear the words “You did that all wrong.” Eventually we could start to believe that we will never do anything right.

Then we could end up with resentment towards that person that can last a lifetime..if not dealt with.

Some of us may get to a point where we hate the way we look from the words of others. There are so many hurtful words that can be used to make someone feel unattractive its actually scary. We can become so blinded by the words of others that we forget who we truly are and how beautiful we truly are.

Then there are those times when accidents happen that alter our looks.

Sometimes depression comes and stays with us for various reasons.

Sometimes a lustful feeling can, if not kept in check, could lead to a lifestyle that was not planned for.

Getting that first buzz could lead to many more. Then, unfortunately, it takes more to get that same buzz feeling. It’s the same with beer, alcohol, drugs and even sex.

Though none of these are truly bad things in and of themselves. It is the way we handle them that can lead us down into a pit, where it is dark with no windows or light.

The Pit

And guess what? That is exactly where the devil wants us. He wants nothing more than for a person of faith to slowly sink or blindly walk into a pit of despair. For it is in those pits that we can loose heart, loose faith and loose our power…prayer.

Get this though…..the devil does not have the power to keep you in said pit and ironically, God will not make you crawl out of it. Staying in or getting out is a choice we all must face at one time or another in our walk of faith.

I have been in many pits in my 46 years here on this ball we call Earth. Many of them I saw no way out. They were dark and deep  with nothing to grab onto because I had lost my vision. Some of them I did not know they were pits until someone told me I was in one. All of my pits that I wondered in had and have names…depression, low self esteem, addiction, etc.

But there came a point where I said enough is enough. I can’t handle this anymore! I want out! But I had to make that first move. Then and only then could God move. And move He did. He pulled out of those pits and set my feet on solid ground.

And it is on that solid ground where my hope is renewed. My vision returns. My faith is made stronger. I am able to stand.

If you are in a place of despair, a place where you feel you have no hope, a  place where you feel as if you are trapped please know that the quickest way out is calling on God for help. Yeah, you might get a reprieve through a loved one of friend but only God can pull you out and set you back on solid ground. Allow Him to set your path straight once again.

 

Psalms 40:1-2

1 I waited patiently for the Lord; and he inclined unto me, and heard my cry.

2 He brought me up also out of an horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings.

