Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Rachel probably thinks I am stalking her page by now…but this one caught my heart, as I have two children of my own.

This one spoke volumes on how we, as parents, should take every opportunity given to us to teach and train our children. To let them know they can not only trust us but God as well..because God is always with us.

“Because I didn’t know the details, I decided to just use it as an opportunity to explain that sometimes we get scared, even mommy, and when that happens, we can always pray and God will always be there. I told them that they can always come to me and talk to me about anything that scares them, and that if at all possible, I will protect them and comfort them and they’ll be safe with me. I explained that sometimes, like that night in the nursery, I might not be there, but God is always there. I encouraged them to pray anytime they felt scared or sad or worried, and reminded them they can even pray when they’re happy or excited. I prayed with them and showed them that all we have to do in those moments is say, “God, I’m Scared.” And He will comfort us and keep us safe.” Amen!

Train a child in the way that he should go, and when he is old he will not depart from it. Proverbs 22:6

Three Boys and a Mom

“Even the saddest things can become, once we have made peace with them, a source of wisdom and strength.” ~Frederick Buechner

After picking the boys up from the nursery a couple nights ago, and after the usual celebration of our reunion, Connor said, “Mommy, I was scared!” My heart dropped a little and I stopped walking, knelt down and asked what scared him. He didn’t really tell me anything other than, “That door scared me.” I’m not sure what door he was referring to or what happened with the door, but whatever it was, it scared him enough to talk about it the rest of the evening. I comforted him, assured him he was safe, picked him up into my arms and we kept walking.

As we walked out of church, Ethan joined in and said that he was scared too. They proceeded to tell every one we passed that…

View original post 989 more words

