Tags

, , ,


There is a lot of truth in this: Becoming Bold: When Satan Attacks

My God is Stronger.Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour:1 Peter 5:8.

So you’ve decided to become bold. You have chosen to forsake a life of timidity and embrace a life lived out loud.You’ve decided to join the revolution.

Now, it’s one week into your new resolution, and you’re discouraged. Attacks are coming from all sides. It seems as though you might never make it out of this bog of criticism and self-doubt.

Yup, Satan’s got you.

Why does it always happen like this? Why is it that every time you decide to make a change, the enemy hounds you to no avail? You start living right, and suddenly your life is like an episode of Honey Boo-Boo, completely confusing and downright depressing. You need help, and fast.

>insert superhero theme song here<

While I can’t tell you how to stop these attacks from coming, I can give you some advice on recognizing and responding when you feel like adversity has a crush on you. Hold on tight.

1. Understand that adversity is promised.

Say what? Stay with me. God has promised us that when we start living for Him, we will experience adversity from his enemies. You have ticked the devil off. (Good job!) You have made him so incredibly angry. How dare you serve God!

But not only have you made him angry, you have scared him. He is afraid you will be louder, be bolder with each passing day. If you do, he will lose followers, and he has determined to NOT let that happen.

“If the world hate you, ye know that it hated me before it hated you.If ye were of the world, the world would love his own: but because ye are not of the world, but I have chosen you out of the world, therefore the world hateth you. Remember the word that I said unto you, The servant is not greater than his lord. If they have persecuted me, they will also persecute you; if they have kept my saying, they will keep yours also.” –John 15:18-20

This puts a lot into perspective. The world hated Jesus Christ. He spoke the Truth boldly, and they crucified Him for it. It follows, then, that if we are living as true Christians, followers of Christ, that the world would hate us. A good litmus test for  evaluating your stand for Christ: Am I being persecuted?

If so, you are doing something right.

2. Understand that God is greater than any adversity you might face.

If you are a follower of Christ, you have a greater advantage than you can possibly imagine. You have the creator of the universe on your side! He will never leave you, or forsake you. He has promised to fight for you!

But don’t just take my word for it, take His:

For the Lord your God is he that goeth with you, to fight for you against your enemies, to save you. –Deuteronomy 20: 4.

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.-Psalm 46:1.

Because of his strength will I wait upon thee: for God is my defence.-Psalm 59: 9.

The Lord shall fight for you, and ye shall hold your peace.-Exodus 14: 14.

And the list could go on. God has promised to fight for us. I don’t remember a time when God has not kept His promise, so I have no reason to believe He will not fight for me.

If God is for me, who in the world can be against me?

Come at me, bro.

Final Thought: God has not only promised to fight for us, but also to bless us for our faith in the midst of persecution.

Blessed are ye, when men shall revile you, and persecute you, and shall say all manner of evil against you falsely, for my sake. Rejoice, and be exceeding glad: for great is your reward in heaven: for so persecuted they the prophets which were before you. –Matthew 5:11-12

Make no mistake about it, Satan WILL come after you. He is not going to go down without a fight. Fortunately I know the end of the story, and guess what? We win. The bold Christian life is a victorious Christian life. Satan will attack, and we will use the full strength of God to fight back. You’ve come this far, don’t give up now!

