Tags

, , , ,


Ephesians 2
 
1: And you hath He made alive, who were dead in trespasses and sins; 2: In which in times past you walked according to the course of this world, according to the prince of the air, the spirit that now works in the sons of disobedience; 3: Among whom also we all had our manner of life in times past in the lusts of our flesh, fulfilling the desires of the flesh and of the mind, and were by nature the children of wrath, even as others. 4: But God, who is rich in mercy, for His great love with which He loved us, 5: Even when we were dead in sins, hath made us alive together with Christ. (for by grace are ye saved)
 
This is a very powerful chapter in one of the best books in the Bible.
 
Do you see your old self in the first three verses? I know I do! I use to follow the world and its ways, which is ruled by the prince of the air (the devil) my enemy. Heck that is why I started drinking, smoking and having premarital sex. I listened to prince of the air whispering in my ear saying that won’t hurt or come on everyone is doing it just look around you..it’s no big deal. And through that I satisfied the desires of my flesh. Heck, we all have…for all have sinned and come short of the glory of God (Romans 3:23). You know what…that “prince” is a LIAR!!! And his intent is to steal, kill and destroy. I allowed him to steal my joy, kill my self worth over the years and destroy a marriage.
 
But now I see myself in the last verses of this PRAISE GOD! No longer am I dead in my sins (separated from God)..I am alive IN Christ  (eternally alive with God) God reached down, via the Holy Spirit, and called my name!! I AM a child of God! No longer “following” the ways of the world and trying to satisfy the desires of the flesh. I am trying to live a Godly life according to His will and purpose for my life.
 
Do I still succumb to the flesh? Yes, I do. It’s a war between the spirit and the flesh. The war was won on Golgotha and even scripture says the battle is not yours but God’s (2 Chronicles 20:15). He fights for us IF we allow Him too. That’s a big word IF! It is all over God’s Word. IF we walk, IF we confess, IF we say, etc And IF I heed the prompting of the Spirit, when God offers a way out, I won’t succumb to the flesh.
 
The only way of overcoming the ways of the world, the prince of the air (the devil), and the flesh is through a personal relationship with Jesus Christ. If you are not saved by grace through faith in Christ won’t you open you heart to Him today? Ask Him to forgive your sins and accept Christ into your heart.
